is wonders assenbiled project ★

Abstract: Under the Radar

Sometimes the best-looking subies go less that noticed both in terms of public recognition and actually catching the extra attention to detail that people have put into their cars.

I just came across this bugeye wagon with version 2 STI front lip on a full sedan front swap (needed to directly fit the V2 lip)… and one of the more interesting swaps I’ve seen: full “Saabaru” rear end – with rear lift-gate/hatch, bumper and taillights from a Saab 9-2x (i.e. the Saab-branded WRX).

I’m a bugeye purist, but I have to admit that rear end is gorgeous. The Saab 92X rear actually looks more like a refined/updated version the bugeye wagon rear, than do some of the 04-07 wagon rears.

Oh yeah the RS is pretty damn spectacular too… Just focusing more on the bugeye because it’s in the name of the blog… something : D

Photos and owner of Ridge Blue Pearl 2.5RS: Aaron’z 2.5RS on Nasioc

3 responses

  1. I am REALLY diggin the Saab rear end conversion. Here in the northeast, I see a lot of Saab 9-2x’s, but non are ever tuned, mostly cause soccer moms are driving them, but I totally agree that the Saab rear end looks like a nicely updated version of the bug-eye wagon. Nice work, if I didn’t have a 03′ sedan, I would be sourcing the Saab rear end pieces right now. Sick 1st gen Impreza aswell.

    September 20, 2011 at 9:31 pm

  2. jimmy asmara

    hi … wat is the offset for your rear rims? pls do help me on this.. coz i want to install TE37 on my wagon bugeye? help pls.. thank Q

    March 5, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    • johnisjdm

      I would message ‘Aaron’z 2.5RS’ on Nasioc – he would probably know!

      March 13, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Leave a Reply

