is wonders assenbiled project ★

BugeyeGarage Bugeye: The Bottom Line…

Just got a new part from HT Autos in the U.K.:

I’ve been trying to get a “bottom line” side skirt for my bugeye like the ones several aftermarket companies make for the 2008-2011 STI.

The bottom line is essentially an extension of the v-limited front lip for your side skirt. It adds a subtle clean look to the car which is what I’ve been going for lately with the addition of a V-limited front lip from JNA performance… sort of the “Gentleman’s GT1” approach.

A couple of companies offer this part for late model (2008+) STI’s. Chargespeed is probably the best known company to offer a full bottom line kit, in both flat and “flared” style, although other companies quickly followed suit. Even STI itself this past year came out with a bottom line kit for the 2008-2011 STI:

< < This is a JDM STI part for the GRB/GVB.

The GRB sideskirts are about 4-inches too long, and the bottom lines are commonly made out of fiberglass and carbon fiber which aren’t easily modified, making retrofits hitherto difficult. However, HT Autos recently released a bottom line kit *****for the 2008+ STI AND NOT FOR THE BUGEYE***** in polyurethane – a flexible, and more importantly, easy to cut material that is frequently used in front lips and other body pieces. HT Autos has made a name for itself in developing Subaru aftermarket body pieces, and the UK has no shortage of demanding Subaru enthusiasts.

I gave it a shot and ordered it, 3 days later this piece showed up at my front door. I plan to shorten it, which will leave one end open ended (but to be fair my JNA lip is also open ended and I kind of like the look), and then retrofit to my bugeye.

Test fit pics:




^ ^ you can see how much longer the bottom line kit is

More to come soon !

Side notes: Chargespeed also offers a more ‘aggressive’ looking 04-07 STI sideskirt bottom line piece, which people have also successfully retrofit to the bugeye sideskirt:

Comparison of Chargespeed’s ‘Flared’ bottom line kit for 08-11 STI shown side by side with Bugeye WRX sideskirt (made of FRP – may not be as easy to modify as Polyurethane)

6 responses

  1. 9Vapors

    The HT Autos bottom line kit is awesome! Its gonna look great…

    October 31, 2011 at 2:13 pm

  2. Grizz

    is there any update on this? Really interested in this one

    January 24, 2012 at 4:51 pm

  3. johnisjdm

    Only update is that I test fit it on my friend’s ’05 Legacy GT and it’s about 1-2″ too short. I’m going to cut off my excess material and donate it to his project. 😛

    But yeah this is one of a number of things I need to jump on. I have everything I need for this project (finally) just need to find a spare weekend to do it. This encourages me to get it done this weekend…

    January 24, 2012 at 9:22 pm

  4. Grizz

    HT AUTOS have just started doing these for WRX sideskirts

    March 6, 2012 at 1:06 pm

  5. johnisjdm

    REALLY?!?!??!?! That’s awesome if so !

    Do you have a link because I did a quick search on Nasioc and their site but couldn’t find anything.

    I was really expecting that they would eventually, I mean shorten it 8 inches and you have another product for a different kind of car – open up a new product market. LOL. I’ve been capriciously posting the WIP shots on Nasioc and here so would be funny if either encouraged them to pull the trigger on making these. WOOHOO for a company making new bugeye parts!

    Side note: I’ve been insanely working on side projects so I finally have to get out this weekend and take some pics.

    March 9, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    • Manuel Sanchez

      Did they ever do a wrx bottom line one? Those subtle flares sure make the wrx look nice just got my bugeye not to long ago and been getting it ready all I need now is a mishi radi and I’ll be good to go. These flares would be a nice future addition to the bug.

      June 27, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Leave a Reply

