is wonders assenbiled project ★

BugeyeGarage bugeye: Headlights!

So after 2 years of being without JDM headlights for one reason or another, I finally have them back on my car!  The driver side headlight I’ve had since at least ’04.  The passenger side headlight is one that I scooped up from Yahoo! Auctions Japan this past month to replace my broken one, along with 2 ballasts. The condition of the new headlight is phenomenal – better than new.

But the interesting twist – the headlights are actually two slightly different colors of “black chrome.”  I noticed it right away when I picked up the headlight (I had 3 other black chrome JDM’s to compare it with) but kind of passed it off as being due to the unbelievable condition of the lens.  (You can see it side by side in my post below about Yahoo! Auctions Japan.)  But after seriously clearing up my other headlight the other day with (step 1) some Meguiars Plast-X and (step 2) Meguiars Headlight restoration kit (plast-x with  a buffer wheel that attaches to a drill), the difference pretty clear.

compared to my last passenger side (RIP!). Note: facing into the sun in brighter pic, away from sun in darker pic.

“YES! I have personally seen several different black chrome headlights and can vouch that there are indeed different shades depending on the batch/mixture of the paint.” – Fromthasco / Nasioc

Secretly I really like it.  I came across a place the other day that will paint headlights, and can do black chrome coatings – but what would you pick?  Have them color match the darker one, or color match the lighter one.  I love both! The difference isn’t at all noticeable in person because the headlights are on either side of the car (and the housing isn’t visible head on), and only marginally noticeable in photos.  I have another set, but I’m actually liking the ‘lighter sometimes’ ‘darker sometimes’ aspect at the moment. Sort of like rocking a different set of wheels on either side : P

5 responses

  1. iNfEk

    I actually came across this when Brian (mister hashimoto) moved back to Hawaii and finally brought his wagon down from California. I have had two to three JDM black chrome HID headlights and all had a similar lighter black chrome inner housing. Brian’s one is a darker version. I like the darker one since it’s a lot more contrasty BUT the lighter one is an obvious black chrome headlight whereas the darker one looks more like black. I hesitate in doing a headlight restoration kit on my headlights but do use light to medium rubbing compound with a buffer and it comes out great!

    If I had the choice… I would match the lighter of the two.

    March 28, 2012 at 2:07 am

    • johnisjdm

      I’m going to have to try the rubbing compound next, thanks! My other one is still scratched to heck. I think wetsand will be the eventual remedy

      March 29, 2012 at 5:46 am

  2. WhoisAnts

    Ah, it looks like you were at ptuning.

    March 28, 2012 at 3:38 am

  3. johnisjdm

    ^ absolutely amazing eye for detail : p

    March 28, 2012 at 8:43 pm

  4. Steve

    Just found your blog. I have been a bug eye fan since they came out. Still have yet to purchase, but it is my dream car. Your site and other bug eye fans help keep the dream alive knowing that the parts are still out there as well as the passion for ’em! Any advice on where/what to look for when buying a bug eye? I figured I would just get the cheapest most stock 02-03 wrx I can find and build it from there.

    But anyways. Just wanted to say keep it up! Loving the pics.

    -Steve

    August 7, 2012 at 12:30 am

Leave a Reply

