is wonders assenbiled project ★

Interlude / Parts Bin: JDM STI v1 repair

The JDM STI version 1 front lip is one of the best looking lips for bugeyes and also one of the best looking factory lip designs offered by any car manufacturer… it almost looks too aggressive to be an OEM offering… it looks more aftermarket.

Rumor has been going around for some time that the STI version 1 front lip has been discontinued within the past year or two… and considering that it cost in the area of $500 new, there aren’t too many kicking around the U.S. to snap up used either.

So what do you do if you break an increasingly rare example of this lip?

…you save the pieces









This widebody bugeye JDM STI type RA spec C belongs to Itakichi and is pretty well documented on Japan’s Minkara website… more pics to follow when I have more time to dig up some different pics

3 responses

  1. Cusson

    I need one of these very badly!!! I’ve literally been searching for 4 years. Is there any possible way to source one still? I can’t believe Subaru won’t put it back into production. I know they’ve been approached numerous times. Any pointing in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. Thanks man! 😀

    January 28, 2011 at 8:31 am

    • johnisjdm

      Haha isn’t that the lip you have on your car right now (and looks pretty much amazing on it)?

      Don’t know how helpful I can be as far as sourcing one (maybe used in Japan on an auction site?).. For new — I previously would have said Japanparts because I use them for everything, but they’ve delisted it. I *know* Japanparts has access to JDM suby dealers (from when I needed a JDM HID ballast)… I wonder if you went to a parts counter at Japan Suby dealership with the parts number what they might tell you: “go to a junkyard” or “there’s an OEM manufacturer that took over production.” Haha tough to do that kind of investigative work on this side of the pond !

      But I’ll definitely keep an eye out for you man!

      January 30, 2011 at 7:20 am

      • Cusson

        Thanks John. The lip on my car now is a replica LOL! I bought it used about 3 years ago off a friend for dirt cheap. It’s the last knockoff part I’ll ever buy. The fitment and quality are horrid. It’s also cracked in 2 places to I’d be very happy to replace it with a real one.

        Next time I go to Japan, I’m going to have to go on the hunt for one of these lips. I tried contacting Japanparts a while back, but naturally they weren’t much help, since the lip is no longer produced. Subaru was so silly to stop making it. It’s probably more popular now than it was back in the day. They could certainly capitalize on the demand and put them back into production.

        Thanks for your help (as always).

        January 31, 2011 at 12:25 am

Leave a comment